Reno Air Racing: Thunder mustang Update!

Time Trial Results and
Action Update
By: Len Ashburn


Reno Air Races, Sept 15, 1999, Third Qualification Day

Reno doesn't lack for excitement if you're close to the sport of air racing. Qualifications ended right on time at 5:00 PM today with a drama display typical of Reno. On the first day Bob Hannah in Race 5 "Voodoo" experienced a traumatic engine failure which lead to a runaway prop. Hannah did a textbook job of engine out recovery. The crew installed an engine leased from Race 4's Bruce Lockton and after 48 hours of steady work, the Voodoo took off with just eight minutes left in the final unlimited flying period. His first lap was completed with 2 minutes remaining and his second lap ended qualifications for Reno 1999.

The Thunder Mustang of Top Flight Aviation blew an engine at 10:25 AM Wednesday shortly after qualifying third in the Sportplane Class. The aircraft was landed safely on runway 14 but left an oil streak for 150 feet.

The Final Qualifying Times Posted at Race Headquarters:

Race 7 "Strega" P-51 Tiger Destefani 479.620 MPH (tu)
Race 4 "Dago Red" P-51 Bruce Lockwood 479.237 MPH (m)
Race 77 "Rare Bear" Bearcat John Penney 468.780 MPH (tu)
Race 8, "Dreadnaught" Sea Fury Brian Sanders 445.321(tu)
Race 66 Sea Fury "Fury" Howard Pardue 417.910 MPH (tu)
Race 11 P-51 "Miss America" Brent Hisey 412.522 MPH (m)
Race 105 Sea Fury "Spirit of Texas" Stewart Dawson 402.637 MPH(tu)
Race 20 "Ridge Runner III" P-51 Dan Martin 438.056 MPH (tu)
Race 10 "Critical Mass" Sea Fury Tom Dwelle 435.015 MPH (wed)
Race 38 "Miss Ashley II" P-51 Spl Gary Levitz 430.717 (wed)
Race 45 "Risky Business" P-51 Bill Rheinschild 409.322 MPH (wed)
Race 114 "Argonaut" Sea Fury Dennis Sanders 399.216 MPH (tu)
Race 911 "September Pops" Sea Fury Michael Brown 398.107 MPH (wed)
Race 9 "Cloud Dancer"P-51 Jimmy Leeward 389.497 MPH (tu)
Race 99 "Riff Raff" Robert "Hoot" Gibson 389.396 MPH (wed)
Race 106 "Wampus Cat" Bearcat Bill Anders 388.591 MPH (tu)
Race 22 "Merlin's Magic" P-51 Bill Eberhardt 378.946 MPH (tu)
Race 5 "Voodoo" P-51 Bob Hannah 376.197 MPH (wed)
Race 204 "Bearcat" F8F Alan Preston 365.900 MPH (wed)
Race 51 "Moonbeam McSwine" P-51 Vlado Lenoch 363.161 MPH
Race 50 "Miracle Maker" P-51 Ike Enns 362.417 MPH (wed)
Race 47 "Ole Yeller" P-51 John Bagley 356.700 (wed)
Race 51 "Moonbeam McSwine" P-51 Vlado Lenoch 363.161 MPH (tu)
Race 49 "206 " P-51 David Price 336.206 MPH (wed)
Race 29 Yak-3 "Czechride" Sam Richardson 329.827 MPH (tu)
Race 44 "Sparky" P-51 Brant Seghetti 323.896 MPH (wed)
Race 104 "Rush-N-Roulette" Yak 312.196 MPH (wed)

Race 47 "Frostbite" Jack Frost 240.032 MPH (wed) NTR
Race 6 "Six Cat" Nick Macy 233.208 MPH (tu)
Race 21 "Mystical Power" Tom Campau 227.163 MPH (wed)
Race 22 "Two of Hearts" Mary Dilda 226.647 MPH (wed)
Race 5 "Big Red" Jerry McDonald 225.707 MPH (tu)
Race 75 "Warlock" Al Goss 225.707 MPH (wed)
Race 37 "Tinker Toy" Jim Bennett 224.972 MPH (tu)
Race 90 "Undecided" Gene McNeely 224.522 MPH (tu)
Race 77 "Wyoming Wildcatter" Jim Good 218.940 MPH (wed)
Race 8 "Crossings Aviation" Robert Jones 214.701 MPH (tu)
Race 9 "Lickety Split" Bud Granley 214.291 MPH (tu)
Race 30 "Archimedes" Jim Eberhardt 210.475 MPH (tu)
Race 50 "Big Wind": Carl Penner 209.958 MPH(tu)
Race 1 "Daring Diane" Carter Clark 201.752 MPH (wed)
Race 44 "MYT6" Jim Booth 201.007 MPH (tu)
Race 66 "MisStress" Tom Martin 199.978 MPH (tu)
Race 3 "Slo-Yeller" Dorel Graves, Jr. 197.212 MPH (wed)

Formula One:
Race 3 "Nemesis" Jon Sharp 263.188 MPH (tu) NTR
Race 4, "Alley Cat" Ray Cote 252.219 MPH(m)
Race 11 "Frenzy" David Hoover 243.869 MPH (tu)
Race 95 "Mariah" Gary Hubler 243.075 MPH (wed)
Race 39 "Shadow" Dan Gilbert 241.971 MPH(m)
Race 2 " Okie Swinger" Ray Sherwood 238.264 MPH (wed)
Race 50 "Scarlet Screamer" Scotty Crandlemire 232.042MPH (tu)
Race 44 "Judy" Holbrook Maslen 225.635 MPH (tu)
Race 92 "Yellow Peril" Eric Matheson 224.639 MPH(m)
Race 99 "Cool Runnings" Dave Morss 221.265 MPH (tu)
Race 57 "Aggressor" Robert Jones 218.246 MPH(m)
Race 17 "Annie" Carl Swenson, Jr. 215.557 H (tu)
Race 19 "Okie Streaker" Ray Sherwood 209.624 MPH (wed)
Race 7 "Lumpy Custard" Steven Alexander 207.295 MPH (tu)
Race 26 "Midnight Oil" Chris Ferguson 199.929 MPH (tu)

Race 88 "Glass Slipper" Jim Smith,Jr. 204.046 MPH (tu)
Race 21 "Class Action" Tom Aberle 198.546 MPH (wed)
Race 00 "Tonopah Low" Pitts Stephen Brown 194.578 MPH (tu)
Race 13 "One Armed Bandit" Robert Jones 186.352 MPH(m)
Race 90 "Buzz Job" Mong Sport Guy Paquin 183.241 MPH (wed)
Race 16 "Reno Rabbit" Frank Jerant 181.195 MPH(m)
Race 12 "Slo Poke" Pitts Spl. Charlie Greer 181.107 MPH (wed)
Race 6 "Flying Lo" Pitts Spl. Jeffrey Lo 178.337 MPH (wed)
Race 20 "LetTheGoodTimesRoll" PittsS1 Cris Ferguson 173.932 MPH (tu)
Race 111 "Run Whatcha Brung" Pitts Bob Blackwood 172.539 MPH (tu)
Race 51 "Pitts Stop" Pitts Spl Chris McMillin 171.560 MPH (wed)
Race 50 "Humbaby" Pitts SC Del Schulte 172.194 MPH (wed)
Race 38 "Lone Wolf" Smith Mini Dan O'Marro 129.165 MPH (wed)
Race 3 "Rags" David Rose 171.141 MPH (wed)
Race 22 "Sticks Adventure" Pitts S-1C Jeremy Chellin 169.303 MPH
Race 11 "Bottom Gun" Byron Roberts 169.022 MPH (tu)
Race 97 "Tin Buddy" Cliff Magee 160.494 MPH(m)
Race 14 "Redline Spl." Mike Taylor 155.738 MPH(m)
Race 77 "Rich's Brew" Richard Beardsley 133.892 MPH(m)

Race 99 "Prototype" Lancair IV Dave Morss 335.287 MPH
Race 25 "The Eggstra Spl" Venture David Anders 311.623 MPH (tu)
Race 3 "Thunder Mustang" Tommy Rose 310.487 MPH (wed)
Race 15 "Lady in Red" Questair Venture Tom Hahn 295.834 MPH (tu)
Race 5 "Deviled Egg" Questair Venture Lee Behel 292.970 MPH (wed)
Race 14 "The Thin Line" SwearingenSX300 Charlie Bangert 289.468 MPH
Race 7 "Sleek Cindy" Homebuilt Dan Wright 285.198 MPH
Race 9 "Live Wire" Lancair IV Livio Bognuda 282.883 MPH (tu)
Race 71 ""Nu Venture" Michael Dacey 281.464 MPH (tu)
Race 2 "Lancair IV-P" Greg McKenzie 281.051 MPH (tu)
Race 10 "Cheek Charle" Glasair III Mike Jones 274.315 MPH (tu)
Race 8 "Pegasus" GlasairII Arnis Luters 255.147 MPH (tu)
Race 4 ""Glasair II" Bill Billips 255.147 MPH (tu)
Race 1 ""Glasair III" David Cronin 254.723 MPH (tu)
Race 70 "Glasair IFT" Richard Ogg 252.071 MPH (tu)
Race 51 "Berkut Pusher" Dave Ronneberg 251.961 MPH (wed)
Race 40 "Babydoll" Glasair II STD Philip Hible 239.725 MPH (tu)


The 1999 Reno National Championship Air Races Will Be Held September 16-19 At Stead Field, Reno Nevada. Qualifying and Practice Events Run September 13-15 And Offers Some Of The Most Exciting Action Of The Entire Week. For Ticket And Lodging Information go to:

[home][air racing][photo gallery][general-military-history][links][news][sims][site map]

copyright 1999 Airport Fence Productions, Inc.
-All Aviation FlightLine OnLine-
Reproduction of any part of this website,
without prior permission, is forbidden.